History
The charity was first formed in 1910 and continues to provide services over 100 years later. See below a timeline of important milestones and accomplishments since the formation of the organisation.
1910
The first meeting was held at 14 Charnley Road, when it was agreed to form a society to help the blind in Blackpool and the Fylde. Monthy meetings were held in the Coroner’s Court Room, Central Police Buildings by courtesy of the Chief Constable.
1919
The Society is re-established with monthly meetings at Friends’ Adult School on Caunce Street and in the following few years the Society was twice reformed.
1925
The first workshop and social centre opens. Meanwhile, the first ‘Sunshine Bazaar’ is held in the Winter Gardens, Blackpool, raising £2,845.
1956
An appeal is launched to build a new residential home for visually impaired people over the age of 60 at Bosworth Place, Blackpool.
1966
An appeal is launched for £200,000 to build thirty-two flatlets and a community centre on Warren Drive, Anchorsholme, Blackpool.
1972
The official opening of the Harold Hoyle Centre for the Blind, Warren Drive, Anchorsholme by the Right Honourable Edward Heath MBE, Prime Minister.
1977
The Talking Newspaper Service is formed following an idea by Bill Griffiths, Blackpool’s local blind war hero, and Ted Marshall, General Manager of the Society.
1985
The Resource Centre on Squires Gate Lane opens, providing information, support and aids for visually impaired people.
1991
Her Royal Highness Princess Diana visits the Industrial Centre for the Blind and Disabled at Clifton Road, Blackpool.
1992
The Society reforms as a Company limited by Guarantee under the new name of ‘Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre Society for the Blind.’
1996
National Lottery funding is obtained for the development of the Talking Newspaper and Resource Centre.
1998
The Organisation opens its first Charity Shop on Highfield Road, Blackpool.
2002
The existing Princess Alexandra Home was officially opened by Her Royal Highness Princess Alexandra, almost 40 years after opening the first home in April 1962.
2007
The Talking Newspaper starts a trial project using memory sticks or DAPs (Digital Audio Plugs) as a possible replacement format for tapes.
2010
The organisation’s centenary year starts with the announcement of the new trading name N-Vision.
2017
The Cleveleys Charity Shop was opened on 2 December 2017.
2019
The Duchess of Wessex pays N-Vision a visit on 1 October 2019.
2020
N-Vision celebrates its 110 year Anniversary.
2021
2022
N-Vision receives donations for the building of the Summer House and the Low Vision Centre.
2025
N-Vision introduces specialist paediatric Low Vision Assessments, providing fun, accessible support to help children identify suitable low vision aids. Funded by the NHS, the service also connects families with further support, including QTVI services.
Help Us to Help Others
LATEST NEWS EVENTS FUNDRAISING
Technology Exhibition 2026
N-Vision Assistive Technology Exhibition 2026 Discover the latest technology and support for living independently with sight loss N-Vision is inviting people living with sight loss,
Happy Retirement, Keith!
Celebrating Keith’s Retirement After 24 Years! Friday 21st August was a very special day at N-Vision as residents, staff, friends and family came together to
Technology with Confidence
Discover the Possibilities of Smart Glasses at N-Vision Special Technology Session for N-Vision Clients Technology is constantly changing, and new developments are creating exciting opportunities